INTRODUCTION: Lanjak Entimau Wildlife Sanctuary

In February 2016, i start with my new assignment and i was posted to a new town, Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysian Borneo. The first field trip sounds very tough as my friend and i gathered all the possible information from friends which have been there before. Since i am an adventurous person, i get excited but still a bit nervous inside my heart. Two of us were going to one of the field station of the largest wildlife sanctuary in Sarawak, Lanjak Entimau Wildlife Sanctuary (LEWS) called Nanga Segerak Biological Centre and only can assess from Batang Ai, Lubok Antu, Sri Aman Division. 

LEWS_1

The Lanjak Entimau WS location in Sarawak (Credit to Wikipedia)

The total area of this wildlife sanctuary is 182,983 ha comprise of the gazettement in 1983 with an area of 168,758 ha and Extension I gazettement in 2013 with an area of 14,225 ha. Since this is a huge area, it was located within three divisions of this state namely, Sibu, Kapit and Sarikei.

I dream of exploring this wildlife sanctuary since my university days when i first visit Danum Valley Field Centre in 2003. To see the virgin forest for the first time is overwhelming me and i was visualizing that when i finish my study will come back to Sarawak (my own home town) and work in Lanjak Entimau Wildlife Sanctuary. Big dream huh!

However, its only after 13 years i come back to Sarawak and be able to realizing my dream. The question is now, what and how can i contribute? Will i be able to contribute my knowledge, my skills, my experiences and my ideas with the current assignment? Thus, i must get a clear vision and mission of this project so i can give my full contribution and have no doubt about my own ability. After 3 months and a half, i start to doubt of my own capability and slowly my strong determination is degrading. These questions disturb me again; Am i good enough? Am i making a wrong decision? Am i at the right place?

As a person with faith in God, i know no decision is wrong and there is a good reason why i am here now. God did answer my prayer 13 years ago to be able to work in this place. It is now, how can i make it happen and God will continue to guide me to pull it through. Nothing is impossible with God.

Leave a Reply

